How Will People Remember Me?

It is not what we do that holds value all by itself, but who we are and how that affects what we do. The spirit in which we do what we do, by this alone others remember us.

Todd Beal

I think sometimes that when talking to someone else, we get so focused on the “what’s in it for me” in the monologue/dialogue – the self-interest factor of the conversation – we forget we are talking to ‘someone else’ who is a person. Sometimes it is not necessarily what the other person is saying that, all by itself, truly gives worth or meaning to their presence, but instead the fellowship we receive in each other’s company simply by sharing each other with each other.

I find the more I truly pay attention to the most subtle of nuances, or seemingly the most trivial of details, in someone else’s monologue, the more I truly appreciate the personal uniqueness s/he has chosen to entrust to me. What an honor for someone to trust me enough to let down the guard and openly share his or her self with me; whether by words, music, a personal hug, or just a simple passing smile.

When we lay down at the end of this short life, regardless of our personal accomplishments, others will remember us by one quality alone: how did we impact them on a personal level. It is not what we do that holds value all by itself, but who we are and how that affects what we do. The spirit in which we do what we do, by this alone others remember us. And only an ever-deepening, personal relationship with Jesus makes our relationship with others the best it can possibly be.

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [H], Relating, Self-Achievement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Will People Remember Me?

  1. Bill R. says:

    Matthew 22:36-40 (NIV)

    36 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”
    Jesus replied: “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: Love your neighbor as yourself. All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

    Focusing on the other person (as described in your blog post) is a natural result of loving that person. If we *truly* love the other person as Christ commands us to, our focus will naturally be on the “object of our love” (i.e. the other person) and not on ourselves (i.e. “what’s in it for me” quoting above post.)

    Your closing line [with my added comments]:
    “The spirit in which we do what we do [ a spirit of love – i.e 2nd greatest commandment – love others], by this alone others remember us.” “And only an ever-deepening, personal relationship with Jesus” [ i.e. love God – the first and greatest commandment] makes our relationship with others the best it can possibly be.” [ Amen! – Rock solid truth! ]

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Thanks for this, Bill. The correlation between the Two Great Commandments and these natural conclusions never entered my mind. The fact that we can naturally and rightly conclude from everyday life, something that gives testimony to a truth given in scripture, tells me that not only is the Bible true and practicably applicable to everyday life, but is also God’s universal blueprint of human design, which shows us how not to break and instead overcome weakness and truly live.

      Thanks again!

      Like

  2. 4roots says:

    Yay for the beauty of listening!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.