Arrogant Denial – The Contradiction

We humans know that by default, not one person knows truth. Yet we arrogantly proclaim, as if we are the natural purveyors of truth, that truth, the absolute of absolutes, does not exist and therefore no one can know it, much less proclaim it.

Todd Beal

I contradict myself the moment I proclaim this absolute, “Truth does not exist.” I am proclaiming that truth, the source of absolute, absolutely does not exist. If truth does not exist absolute does not exist, nothing is for certain and nothing ever began, including us. If truth exists, it is wholly true and irrefutable. If it does not exist, its nonexistence is not true; therefore truth exists, and must exist to say it does not.

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [A], Contradiction, Truth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Arrogant Denial – The Contradiction

  1. That’s as profound as anything Descartes ever said. Extremely comforting to those who face defending and teaching truth. If anything is self-evident, it is the existence of truth. Now, getting at what exactly is true, that’s the work of a lifetime.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Regarding your last sentence “Now, getting at what exactly is true, that’s the work of a lifetime”, yes, and I believe that is truly what life is about; discovering truth, whole-heartedly accepting it, and sharing it with others.

      I find the more I am willing to accept truth (that internal prompting, or tug, to which I am naturally hostile), even when it personally hurts and proves me wrong, the easier it is for me to recognize its unique signature next time. Otherwise I close my heart, and my mind, and begin the arduous task of piecing together my own contradictory ‘truth’.

      My natural tendency is to take the latter route. It initially feels like freedom to follow myself (or someone else who is convincingly following his or her self) but I always end up in the same predicament; severe unrest and still no truth, just internal contradiction leading me by the nose in all directions at once. It took me so many wasted years to figure that out. Truth feels limiting only when I refuse to accept it, but sets me free when I allow it to come in and clean house. When I allow myself this treat, it is the only time I feel happy and at peace.

      Like

  2. Todd,

    Good thinking mate! It all begins with the awe of God, He who is always “transcendent” and “immanent” … yes traditional Theism!

    Like

  3. divinelogos says:

    Thanks for the note about the comment about the translations. I look forward to reading more of your posts here as well. I got my first ESV back about 2004, long before either of the study bibles was out. It is free online, too. It isn’t perfect, but it is very very good compared with most English translations.

    Like

  4. Three immediate thoughts –
    Jesus Christ said “I AM THE TRUTH”
    and He also said “You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free”
    and “When the Holy Spirit comes, He will guide you into all truth”

    Like

Comments are closed.