Live Without Regret

Tomorrow is not today, today is not yesterday. So why think this moment the same as your next, as if it cannot change? We do, because our days are interconnected. Make the most of them – live life without regrets, so long as you Live Life to avoid them.

Learn, Change, Live.

Todd Beal

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [W], Life Purpose, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Live Without Regret

  1. Great thought, Todd. Some feel that avoiding regrets means to avoid risk, but some things are worth the risk: Love, learning, and pushing the boundaries of the limitations we assign ourselves. It’s great to see you posting again!

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      That is a true statement. We often are so afraid of doing something wrong that we fail to push forward and do something right, but the consequence is regret.

      Regret is a useful tool if we don’t make it become our sense of self-worth. We must be careful to not let it perpetually drag us backward and away from life, but propel us forward and into a positive life-building transformation.

      Good to talk to you again Michael. Thank you.

      Like

  2. Welcome back Todd. You always challenge our thought process.

    Regret can be beneficial, allowing us to examine what caused the regret and to avoid a similar occurrence in the future. It can cause us to re-examine motives and actions and be used as an incentive to overcome obstacles and move on.

    Regret can also be detrimental, swallowing us into uselessness and preventing us from moving ahead.

    I am again reminded of my life quote, borrowed from missionary Jim Elliot, who wrote it in his diary a few days before being killed by Auca Indians . . .
    “So live, that when you come to die, you have nothing left to do, but die”

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      | “So live, that when you come to die, you have nothing left to do, but die” |

      Angela, that is an awesome statement! I want my life to be used up – to count for something truly worthwhile. When it is my time to meet Jesus, I want only to say, “Take me home Jesus. I have tried my very best to serve you.”

      I will expound a bit more on regret with my next post. And, ironically, it is almost a carbon copy of what you essentially lay out here. Regret, all by itself, is a useful tool but it is not meant to be an end unto itself, denying us of life. It is meant to spur us on and away from mistakes. It is meant to propel us forward and into a life-transformation. The purpose of regret is to make us need to understand where we went wrong: learn from it, fix it, and move forward into life with a brand new mission.

      Regret is not a bad thing, so long as we use it to appreciate all that is good, not surrender to all that is bad!

      Thank you Angela!

      Like

Comments are closed.