What Makes My Belief True?

Who among us will bow his ego to reason, knowing full well that, quite possibly, truth will show at least one contradiction within his most cherished doctrinal belief?

Todd Beal

It is not difficult to find someone who believes Spiritual truth trumps man’s natural intellect: most sincere-minded Christians believe this with all their heart, in principle. In reality, however, when Biblical exegesis comes into play, they confuse their intellectual certainty with that given by truth through God’s Holy Spirit. So one might ask, “How do I know for certain whether my certainty comes from myself or from truth?” You cannot, unless first you subject your understanding of truth to openly receiving more truth: willingness to change precedes the ability to receive.

We must each decide, “Which do I love more: my established beliefs, or the truth with which my beliefs either align or contradict?” Can you tell the difference, or are you merely certain.

See also on Truth Behind Reality: Are My Beliefs True or Convenient?

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in Belief, By Title [W] and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Makes My Belief True?

  1. Terrific post. Many “rational” people struggle to find and accept spiritual truth because it can’t always be tested the same way physical laws can. What goes up must come down, but the sinner is not always punished on the day of his transgression and the good man often suffers long. So much can only be learned through experience, humility, study, prayer, listening, and testing God’s ultimately unbreakable promises.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      | So much can only be learned through experience, humility, study, prayer, listening, and testing God’s ultimately unbreakable promises. |

      This right here, Michael, is the essence of my post: nailed it square on the head. The moment we stop doing this is the very moment we stop listening to truth. Thanks a lot!

      Like

  2. And indeed truth is always both doctrinal and practical! But we in this Pilgrim Church, will always in this life, as Paul says: “Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I am known.” (1 Cor. 13:12) So not until eternity will I know in any fulness, but even then I will stand and worship, as I can worship, though imperfectly, now! Nice Post Todd!

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Absolutely, Fr. Robert. And it is for this reason – knowing in part – that we must realize our intellect is not the source of truth. Only truth can lead us into more truth, not the intellect apart from truth. I tell ya’ Fr. Robert, I so look forward to that eternal moment when I literally understand everything. Wow! What a day that will be. Man! That gets me going.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Searching for truth — is there one? « bluegrassnotes

  4. Pingback: Are My Beliefs True or Convenient? | Truth Behind Reality

Comments are closed.