Happy Thanksgiving 2011

I want to wish everyone here at Truth Behind Reality a Happy Thanksgiving! This is a very special holiday for me. I so appreciate God’s unending blessings in my life. Just when I think life is dealing me a major blow, God steps in and provides the means for me to grow and flourish both personally and practically.

This past year has been very tough but also very rewarding. First, I lost my job in August 2010 and then used up my 401K to financially survive. Just when I was down to my last few dollars at the end of this July, I found a job right down the street and am now rebuilding my savings. Yes, my 401K is gone. But, I had just enough money to last until I found my new job. Coincidence; I say not. God always provides what I need!

Secondly, my vision took a major turn for the worse this July. However, due to my mother’s insistence, I visited yet another eye doctor (doctor number 9), and now after 14 years of debilitating vision (see My Story), I have a diagnosis – a treatable diagnosis, about which I will give a thorough update after the holiday weekend. In the meantime, I have successfully adapted to the July vision change and am now positively rebuilding my critical thinking ability. The bottom line; I have so much for which to be thankful – so much!

Thirdly, this will be my first Thanksgiving without my grandmother, my father’s mother. Jesus took her to heaven on September 24, 2011 at 11:12 AM EST. Now she is rejoicing with her redeemer – the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, Jesus Christ – and is basking in his unbounded glory. Oh, how I long to go to heaven. I will someday speak with her again, along with Adam, Eve, Enoch and Noah, King David, King Solomon, Moses and Joshua, Paul and the Disciples, and every other believer who has passed on before me: what a day that will be. I am so thankful to have such a great spiritual heritage, both biblically and through my family. My friends, I am so blessed!

Finally, I am so thankful for you my friends here at Truth Behind Reality. I have enjoyed our thought-provoking conversations, your mentorship, your guidance, camaraderie; your fellowship. I want to thank each of you for allowing me to be a part of your life. We may be separated by physical distance but we are always united in spirit and in Truth, our Christ.

Thanksgiving is not just another holiday for me. It is my time for self-reflection; a time to feel my deepest thanks, a time to articulate that thanks both to God and to others for what I have so freely received. Truly, I have a great life!

Philippians 4:8 [NASB] “Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.” Let this be our motto for the coming year.

As prompted, I pray for each of you by name that God will intervene on your behalf; that he will give you the wisdom and strength to rightly persevere, that he will guide you and comfort you with his perfect will, according to your situation.

Let us build not only our fellowship with each other but also our eternal relationship with Jesus Christ.

I wish each of you the very best of Thanksgivings!

Your friend,

Todd

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [H], Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving 2011

  1. Praise and Glory to God! Wishing you a blessed day Todd, thanks be God for this grand news!

    Like

  2. NewLeafLeader says:

    Sorry I’m late, but thanks Todd for the expressions of gratitude and new beginnings! Sorry to hear about your grandmother. I also lost my step-grandmother in October. She was a great lady of faith. Although a lifelong Christian, she had a keen interest in the Jewish people and visited Israel several times, becoming somewhat of an expert on the subject and lecturing on it many times in her later life. What’s interesting is that due to an error made by the mortuary, someone had used the cemetery plot she had paid for in advance and she ended up with the only other available plot, which happened to be in the part of the cemetery traditionally reserved for Jews! She’ll find herself among those she loved on the morning of the resurrection.

    Here’s wishing you the BEST with your new job, your vision, and Truth Behind Reality!

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Michael,

      That is very interesting about your step-grandmother. I bet she was a very interesting conversationalist. I really enjoy studying Jewish history, culture, religion, etc. After all, they are God’s chosen people through Abraham.

      I hope your job search is going well. Or at the very least, I hope you have a solid direction in which to head.

      Thanks for popping in to say hello.

      Like

Comments are closed.