Meet the Challenge

In the midst of a storm stands a tree and within that tree grows strength. If you are the tree and life is the storm, which way will you bend to meet its challenge?

Todd Beal

Even the strongest of trees sways with the wind, yet still, remains firmly planted, but not if not for its taproot growing deep… deep, drawing up life.

From what do you gain life …truth? Or does death now grow within you; hardening you, breaking you, robbing you of sustenance, and then you’ll fall forever.

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [M], Perseverance, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meet the Challenge

  1. Hi Todd
    Not only are trees beautiful and curious with their many shapes and give us shade and shelter, they also provide us with many object lessons.

    We know that giant trees grow on high cliffs, buffeted with gale force winds, and yet stand there defiantly, simply because their roots are planted deep and wide. When our roots are planted firmly in the Word of God, in the certainty of His love and care, we will stand tall in the storms of life – not on our own merit but solely because of the life flowing through Him to us.

    Like

  2. Lance Ponder says:

    Stark contrast. Vivid.

    Like

  3. Great analogy! I’ve heard that the biggest, strongest trees have a bigger system of roots below the ground than they have a branch system above the ground. Just so, we should all have character that goes much deeper than what is visible on the surface.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Michael, that reminds of the saying, “There’s more to it than what meets the eye.” So much of our interactions with each other remain almost entirely on the surface. So often, we overlook that depth of character you mentioned – even in the very persons we love the most. It is interesting to me that the more we personally grow, the more open we are to the depth of character in those around us. What a pleasure to interact with a person who is far richer on the inside than on the outside.

      Like

Comments are closed.