Cause and Effect

No thing is the cause of itself, and effect is subordinate to its cause. Cause is not and cannot be less than its effect – this renders evolution false.

Todd Beal

So, who or what caused this effect that some call Creation, as the effect did not cause itself? For all things there exists a source, with all sources converging back onto one. According to Science, there was a single universal beginning, a beginning that necessarily requires a source. The Bible asserts God spoke that beginning into existence, but what proves his existence?

The works of a creator cannot prove the creator, as they are each and collectively less than their cause, and therefore serve only as evidence that their creator exists. There is but one proof that God exists: experiencing God’s undeniable presence, personally; an impossibility, except one first receive God into his or her heart. Aside from this, there is no proof, only evidence for, and supposition against, God’s existence, our cause.

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [C], Cause and Effect, Evolution and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cause and Effect

  1. Hi Todd

    About half way through reading your blog, my mind was formulating a reply. While my sons are scientists, I am NOT. I am simple-minded. I do not rely on scientific mumbo-jumbo (no matter how intelligent it is it is still mumbo-jumbo to me).

    Then I came to your last paragraph and I smiled – a big smile.

    I have often told people that while I can prove to them that at least parts of the Bible are accurate to the very last detail, I cannot prove to them the existence of God.

    However, I need no proof myself, for my daily experience with Him IS proof. I enjoy the ABSOLUTE REALITY of His presence. I have known His very real guidance, encouragement, enabling, strength, teaching . . . His constant work IN my life and on my behalf, and His work THROUGH me to accomplish His will. God is just as real to me as my own husband or my children or anyone I know. I need no other proof.

    Anyone who desires proof of the existence of God will ONLY find that proof by experiencing a relationship with Him.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Angela,

      I am happy that this post resonated with you as much as it did with me. Although numerous logical proofs exist of God’s existence, they still fall under the category of evidence. We can prove God all the way from logical deduction to the fine-tuning of the cosmos, but until we personally experience his life-changing presence, those other proofs merely point toward him, but they do not unite us with him. If a person has never experienced real love, that person’s mind is incapable of understanding it. Likewise, if a person has never experienced God, that person’s mind is incapable of understanding him, much less accepting him. Aside from personally experiencing God, no proof in the world can make up the difference.

      | However, I need no proof myself, for my daily experience with Him IS proof. I enjoy the ABSOLUTE REALITY of His presence. I have known His very real guidance, encouragement, enabling, strength, teaching . . . His constant work IN my life and on my behalf, and His work THROUGH me to accomplish His will. God is just as real to me as my own husband or my children or anyone I know. I need no other proof. |

      You need no other proof because there is no other proof.

      Today, I asked a gentleman if proving God is possible. His response floored me: “If we knew God, there would be no faith.” As Michael Knudsen puts it, this created in me a paradigm shift that altered my whole view of the necessity of faith.

      Thanks a lot for this comment Angela. It is very encouraging.

      Like

      • >> “If we knew God, there would be no faith.”
        I would think that if we do NOT know God, it would be BLIND faith. We can have faith in God simply because we DO know God.

        Like

        • Todd Beal says:

          Angela,

          He was referring to the fact that if we could somehow prove that God exists, we would not need faith to know he exists. For example, if I have met you face to face, I need no faith to know that you exist and are speaking to me. Just as with Adam and Eve, they talked with God in the person and therefore needed no faith to know that God is who he is. Once the fall occurred, faith became necessary.

          Like

        • Todd Beal says:

          Angela,

          | “If we knew God, there would be no faith.” |

          Correction: “If we knew God exists, there would be no faith.” I clarified this last night with the gentleman who wrote this. I apologize for the misquote.

          Like

  2. I love the beauty and simplicity of this post, especially that last paragraph, which touched me as it did Angela.

    Although the scriptural record has many accounts of great miracles that “proved” God’s power to Israel’s enemies, the long-term positive effects of those divine interventions were only for the faithful. In Cecil B. DeMille’s movie The Ten Commandments, the defeated Pharaoh, speaking of the deity worshiped by Moses, finally says “His God IS God,” but that didn’t happen in the Bible. Pharaoh denied it until the end. Did Elijah’s fireballs against the priests of Baal eliminate the worship of false gods forever? Did Jesus’ feeding of 5,000 with a few loaves and fishes keep them from crucifying him a few months later? Do the people who don’t accept the Bible today believe any of the above ever happened?

    So proofs and miracles don’t change people, in many cases even when they experience them first hand. Jesus despaired over the “sign-seekers” and always emphasized faith as preceding the miracle.

    God often shows his indignation to protect and uphold his faithful people so that his work can move forward, but far more often he allows the wicked to condemn themselves by their actions, even when innocents are impacted. In many cases, final justice and reparations will be made at courts higher than any on this earth.

    I too believe that as faith blossoms into knowledge on any topic, faith is no longer necessary (on THAT topic). Both faith and knowledge are essential, and if we are progressing, we always start with faith and end at knowledge. I believe God holds us more responsible for knowledge than for faith. If we sin against faith, we can and should repent. If we sin against knowledge, that in my view has far more serious consequences and is the sin Jesus refers to as “blasphemy against the spirit” in Matt. 12:31-32. How do we gain spiritual knowledge? Through faith and revelation from the Holy Spirit. You can see why denying that, once it is received, could be unforgivable.

    Once again Todd, you’ve got my mind going in several directions after your enlightening post. I’m thankful for the gifts you so freely share every time I read your inspired writings.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Michael,

      | I too believe that as faith blossoms into knowledge on any topic, faith is no longer necessary (on THAT topic). Both faith and knowledge are essential, and if we are progressing, we always start with faith and end at knowledge. I believe God holds us more responsible for knowledge than for faith. If we sin against faith, we can and should repent. If we sin against knowledge, that in my view has far more serious consequences and is the sin Jesus refers to as “blasphemy against the spirit” in Matt. 12:31-32. How do we gain spiritual knowledge? Through faith and revelation from the Holy Spirit. You can see why denying that, once it is received, could be unforgivable. |

      “You can see why denying that, once it is received, could be unforgivable.” There is a lot to work through in your paragraph here, but what I sense you are saying is that once we grasp truth and then reject it we are in serious danger. I hope I am not misreading you. I wrote a post on November 09, 2010 called Affliction of the Uncommitted that (if I understand you correctly) directly addresses your thoughts.

      It was great reading your examples of how many times people see miracles yet still don’t believe in God. Another great comment that I enjoyed plowing through. Thanks. And Michael, thanks for your ending words of affirmation. I really appreciate that.

      Like

  3. Lance Ponder says:

    “No thing is the cause of itself, and effect is subordinate to its cause. Cause is not and cannot be less than its effect – this renders evolution false.”

    This is your own organic version of something called the Kalam Principle. If I haven’t already posted about it, I will. Suffice it to say you’re 100% correct. It is as true scientifically as in any other realm of natural reality.

    “There is but one proof that God exists: experiencing God’s undeniable presence, personally”

    This morning in a small men’s bible study where I participate, I spoke to one of the guys afterward encouraging him to share his testimony. I explained to him the most valuable possession he has, the pearl of greatest price, the one thing worth sharing, is his personal testimony. The bible is great, but it is evidence from others. It is weighty and good, but still it stands as affidavits from others in antiquity. If God is real, if this Creator is really a God of love who descended, suffered and died to redeem us, and promised to be with us, then he must still be alive and active. If so, then there is necessarily evidence in our lives. We are witnesses, and our testimony must be given. What did the apostles have, I asked? Their testimony, I answered. They saw, they experienced, and they were empowered to testify. Do we not see and experience? Then we must testify. If knowledge is power, then the true power lies in the purpose of that knowledge which in turn is sharing – testifying – to what is known. It is all we have, it defines us, and it is the greatest gift we can offer.

    So say we all.

    Like

Comments are closed.