Just Weather

Two farmers say prayers for their crops: one for it to rain so his crops will grow; the other for no rain because his crops have too much already. Whose prayer does God answer? Maybe neither – sometimes it’s just weather.

Don Branham

Sometimes we need to stop worrying about the “rain” and instead ask God for “growth” whether it rains or not.

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Other Authors, By Title [J], Personal Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just Weather

  1. So true! And yet sometimes weather miracles do happen…or maybe the weather finally changes. I personally count it as a miracle every time rain falls or the sun shines. Sometimes we get scorched and sometimes we get flooded out. If we had Eden-like conditions all the time it wouldn’t be the world we need to teach us the lessons we need to learn. Jesus healed many people (and I’m betting only a few of those are actually recorded in scripture), and he makes it clear that those miracles weren’t all in response to someone’s sin or supplication, but “…that the works of God would be manifest.” (John 9:3). Miracles are an affirmation to the faithful that God is both real and good. Others may see them as coincidences, tricks, or even evil (“he hath a devil”). My feeling is that the more faithful we become, the more miracles we see, until almost EVERYTHING is a miracle, with God’s hand revealed in even the smallest things.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Michael,

      Right on; how can anyone top that!

      | Jesus healed many people (and I’m betting only a few of those are actually recorded in scripture), and he makes it clear that those miracles weren’t all in response to someone’s sin or supplication, but “…that the works of God would be manifest.” (John 9:3). |

      This really spoke to me. Sometimes, many times, God does what he does just so we can see him as God.

      | My feeling is that the more faithful we become, the more miracles we see, until almost EVERYTHING is a miracle, with God’s hand revealed in even the smallest things. |

      Michael, I have experienced this so many times in recent years. What a truly joyous experience to see God in mighty action, in every aspect of life.

      Thanks a whole lot for this comment. All the way through, I kept saying out loud, “Wow!”, “That’s Awesome!”

      Like

  2. Lance Ponder says:

    This morning in our men’s group bible study the subject of prayer was what we talked about. Does God always answer and do what we ask, that sort of thing. What about faith, what about this or that. The profound thought that came to me was: why. Why ask, why would God listen, why why why. I reminded them that it is about God’s will and God’s glory – not fattening our own selves. That led to talking about the nature of love, God’s character, and so on. It was a great conversation. I think your thoughts are right on track. Simple, profound, and true.

    Like

  3. Pete A. says:

    Lots like each of us praying for our own NFL or NBA or MLB or college team to win, isn’t it?

    By the way, my family appreciated your gracious comments on Heather Joy’s blog the other day. Thanks for those (they drew us to yours, and we look forward to reading more).

    We ourselves don’t have a blog, though we do have a family website with free desktop wallpapers (nearly all taken by my daughter Yvette) and material on some ways we can “love our neighbors.”

    May God continue blessing you.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Pete,

      | Lots like each of us praying for our own NFL or NBA or MLB or college team to win, isn’t it? |

      That’s a great analogy.

      Thanks for stopping by. I recommend visiting the Post History page for a complete listing of all posts. Also, My Story will give you a better perspective of where I am coming from with this blog. Hopefully I will see more of you here on Truth Behind Reality.

      Like

  4. Lance Ponder says:

    Jer 29:11-13 comes to mind…

    For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Lance,

      Are you referring to the post elaboration, “Sometimes we need to stop worrying about the “rain” and instead ask God for “growth” whether it rains or not.”

      Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Lance,

      It is interesting that you bring up Jeremiah 29:11-13 when speaking of prayer: “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.” This is directly related to the previous post Why Won’t God Answer My Prayer?.

      Strangely, we often fail to ask God what to pray for. We act as if we are ignorant of the fact that his plan is always our best interest. We speak words of belief with our mouth but in our heart we doubt his provision. If we just ask God for the faith to pray (faith as defined in Hebrews 11:1), our every prayer, whatever the prayer, will be according to his will, and God will answer it according to our prayer. When we make God’s will our will, we never have to wonder if God will take care of our needs. If it is God’s good pleasure that he take care of those who love him, why do we insist on praying from our will, not his?

      Like

Comments are closed.