The Christian Martyr’s Creed

If you kill me my soul goes to God, robbing your master of any chance to take it. If you torture me others will see Christ in my suffering, taking their eyes off you and me. If you set me free I will tell others about Christ, taking them away from you and the one you serve. So what will you do?

Todd Beal

Matthew 10:26-33 (ESV)  [26] “So have no fear of them, for nothing is covered that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known. [27] What I tell you in the dark, say in the light, and what you hear whispered, proclaim on the housetops. [28] And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell. [29] Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. [30] But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. [31] Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows. [32] So everyone who acknowledges me before men, I also will acknowledge before my Father who is in heaven, [33] but whoever denies me before men, I also will deny before my Father who is in heaven.

When the time comes, may God give me strength to live out this martyr’s creed.

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [T], Christian Martyrdom, Martyrdom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Christian Martyr’s Creed

  1. Michael Knudsen says:

    Is it possible to avoid martyrdom as a Christian? Maybe I won’t be asked to give my life in a dramatic and final way, but I have certainly been asked to give up my “life” to follow Him. Anyone living strict Christian principles is going to come up against a hostile world on a regular basis, because the world’s ways are increasingly divergent from Christ’s ways. If I’m doing what’s right, no day should go by that I don’t need to dodge something pernicious or say an emphatic “no” to temptation. We gather in congregations as a refuge from the world, but the world encroaches further every year with assaults on cherished family relationships and pervasive media designed to desensitize and addict. As it becomes more difficult to be “IN the world but not OF the world,” we each need to draw our own lines in the sand and endure to the end through a daily “martyrdom” that demands everything of us.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Michael, it is interesting to me how you tie Christian physical martyrdom with spiritually dying to self. I have never made this connection but I do now. Reading your comment instilled one of those “aha” moments for me. If I die to myself daily, as Paul says, then should physical martyrdom become necessary, it will naturally extend my current living sacrifice.

      Like

    • Lance Ponder says:

      I haven’t thought of it exactly this way either, but you make an excellent point. My self certainly wants a lot of things, but Christ within is satisfied without that stuff and retreats from it or protests when I partake against His will. May God forgive me more than 70×7. I need it. Amen.

      Like

  2. Lance Ponder says:

    Todd, I like that creed. Is that your original or is that an historical standard. I have not read it before and it is worthy of bold quotation!

    Like

  3. pbus1 says:

    Todd,

    Is it possible, that you may have already lived out this martyr’s creed, to some extent? We who are striving to live holy, which is pleasing unto the Lord, may not have suffered as a martyr the way Stephen did, but some are persecuted and harassed daily, because of their faith and trust in the Lord. “Persecution seeks to intimidate and/or silence” an individual, because of their beliefs, and sometimes individuals are killed for this reason.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Paulette,

      In no way have I been persecuted for my faith in Jesus, ever. However, I have been rejected by Christian and non-Christian alike for much of the material I present on this blog. I have found that people have one major weakness in common; we are naturally hostile to anything that forces us to rethink our position, especially when that something is truth. Most people would be very surprised at just how much of what we call truth, and even what we call untruth, is really our personal bias apart from truth.

      Fourteen years ago, I set out to find truth – whatever the cost – whether it felt good or felt awful. Regardless of what anyone else says, regardless of what tradition has established, regardless of what is preached from the pulpit, if it does not line up with truth it is human opinion, not truth. I have found that even in conservative churches, wholeheartedly seeking and accepting truth is not common practice, and woe to the one who brings that to our attention.

      Like

  4. “In the world you SHALL HAVE tribulation” John 16:33

    In our society we do not see much persecution and possibly no martyrdom. The persecution we do face, though real to us, is nothing compared with what Christians in some countries face on a daily basis. However, we DO face persecution, as Jesus Himself said we would – and if we do not, we are evidently not living the life we should be living.

    The persecution and tribulations are real and they hurt. They hurt our pride more than a physical hurt, but they hurt.

    Jesus said if we are to be His disciples we must “take up our cross”. As all who heard Him say these words knew only too well, He meant one thing and only one thing. Anyone who took up his cross was on the way to execution with absolutely no way out. He was as good as dead.

    Jesus was telling us we must count ourselves as dead.

    I know the old nature still rises up and sometimes we react accordingly, but whenever we move into the world (and when we are alone) we are called on to be martyrs: to count ourselves as dead, but alive unto Christ. Some might think this a restricting life, a negative life, a fun-less life, but we who know the JOY of a surrendered life wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Angela,

      | Jesus said if we are to be His disciples we must “take up our cross”. As all who heard Him say these words knew only too well, He meant one thing and only one thing. Anyone who took up his cross was on the way to execution with absolutely no way out. He was as good as dead. |

      I have always wondered what this literally means. Your statement brings the meaning of this scripture to life. Thank you.

      Like

      • This Scripture is one that is too often misquoted/misused. I hear so many say things like “Oh well, that is the cross I have to bear” and I cringe.

        There can only be ONE meaning here, as the people at the time would have understood. Taking up the cross meant certain death and nothing else. THAT is what we are called to – death to self – and what a blessing that is!!!

        Like

Comments are closed.