Hear Truth

I would rather hear truth that hurts than a lie that feels good.

Todd Beal

Truth sometimes hurts, but only because it destroys the deadwood, after which, new life springs into existence. A lie sometimes feels good, and looks beautiful, but only until the façade of pleasantry inevitably gives way to life-choking misery.

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [H], Truth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Hear Truth

  1. And always our only hermeneutical principle is simply Christ: “Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6) Christ is always His own Christology, that leads us to our God and Father, and the Spirit too; both: “For through Him we both (Jew & Gentile) have access by one Spirit to the Father.” (Eph. 2:18)

    Like

  2. Lance Ponder says:

    As one who has been a bringer of such pain as well as a recipient, I cannot agree more. I have become almost masochistic in my joy at correction. Like anyone else I still enjoy a pat on the back (though I’ve become almost leery of such), but honesty is such a rare commodity on the market today I am in more pain at the presence of the dead than at its removal. May God always teach us His ways, to reveal when our own ways are present and to take authority with His counsel.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      | I am in more pain at the presence of the dead than at its removal. May God always teach us His ways, to reveal when our own ways are present and to take authority with His counsel. |

      If only this would become the heart-cry of our generation. Oh dear God, lead us back to you. If ever there was a statement that sums up my life mission – my burning passion behind every Truth Behind Reality post – this is the one, your statement. Without Truth, we are nothing – absolutely nothing.

      Like

  3. ζÔ§Η says:

    That’s a really good way of looking at truth, and I agree with your view.
    I’ve read some of your other posts, and I must say I really like your posts and your views. Your posts are really well-written and insightful. I’ll be back :]

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Hi Josh,

      Welcome to Truth Behind Reality, and thank you for your feedback.

      As the name suggests, the conversations here revolve around the principles of truth.  There may be some topics that initially put up the big red flag, but if you adopt a ‘wait and see’ approach, I am confident you will find something of lasting value.

      Thank you for stopping by and saying hello,

      Todd Beal

      Like

  4. And I believe we all come into this world with the light of Christ in our eyes and in our hearts, enabling us to recognize truth when we hear it. Unfortunately, as we become exposed to and accept the untruths disseminated by the adversary, we become somewhat deadened to truth as we find comfort in the lies that are most attractive to us. The truth remains sharper than a two-edged sword, however, and always has the power to bring us back. A verse from The Book of Mormon, Another Testament of Jesus Christ, says, “the guilty taketh the truth to be hard, for it cutteth them to the very center.” We can be grateful for that sharp edge. Truth doesn’t waiver, it doesn’t compromise, and it’s always in front of us, a beacon to light the way back from errant paths.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      | Unfortunately, as we become exposed to and accept the untruths disseminated by the adversary, we become somewhat deadened to truth as we find comfort in the lies that are most attractive to us. |

      Your statement reminds me of a previous post, “Frog in the Frying Pan”.  No effort is required to let truth slip away, but keeping it requires an open heart with a disciplined, teachable mind.

      Like

  5. A lie is a lie is a lie.
    While people talk about a “little lie” or a “white lie” the truth is that it is a LIE.

    Truth might sometimes hurt, but when given correctly and accepted properly it can be very beneficial.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      | but when given correctly and accepted properly |

      Excellent! One may know truth, but if given (or proclaimed) by selfish motives, it is not beneficial. One may hear a properly given truth, but if he or she does not wholeheartedly open up to that truth, nothing positively changes.

      Like

    • pbus1 says:

      People attempt to qualify sin, such as distinguishing a little lie/white lie, from a so-called “big” lie. However, the truth of the matter is, ALL unrighteousness is sin, and ALL liars shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone.

      Todd, I agree the truth may hurt sometimes. However, I would much rather accept the truth, which may be given as constructive criticism, which is meant to help me to become better in some way, rather than enjoy the good feeling I may get from being lied to. After all, in the end, it will profit me nothing! Also, if I am being totally true to myself, no good feeling will come, as a result of being told a lie.

      Like

      • Todd Beal says:

        | However, I would much rather accept the truth, which may be given as constructive criticism, which is meant to help me to become better in some way, rather than enjoy the good feeling I may get from being lied to. After all, in the end, it will profit me nothing! Also, if I am being totally true to myself, no good feeling will come, as a result of being told a lie. |

        Paulette, this is the very thought that drove me to write this post.

        Truth only tastes bitter if we decide to reject it, but transforms the palate if received by an open heart. A lie feels good when it bolsters a selfish position, but burns one alive when truth destroys the façade.

        Thank you for this comment.

        Like

  6. vickilombana says:

    Todd,
    Nice post. Truth be told, a lie is just too hard to remember! And, I’ll go a step further, it’s (maybe) a form of manipulation. Maybe.

    The Bible tells us to speak the truth in love. When we seek the Lord as to how to approach someone in love, He will give us the answer in Truth-telling. Never in false flattery. Never in the “white lies” society thinks are ok to preserve someone’s dignity or calm fears. Look how much a “little white lie” damaged things for Abraham in Egypt. Half-sister or wife? Either way, he was asked to leave…and he came out with Hagar!

    God’s truth will never shatter to oblivion. It may shatter, but will always rebuild.
    -V.

    Like

    • pbus1 says:

      Vicki,

      Great comment! I really liked the last sentence of the comment. So true!!!

      Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      Vicki,

      Thanks for the substance-filled thought.

      A lie performs best when, to the ill-prepared, it renders the difference between truth and itself indistinguishable. Consider II Corinthians 11:14, “…for even Satan disguises himself as an angel of light.”

      What then is truth?

      Like

      • Lance Ponder says:

        Oo. Oo. Oo. I’ll take a swipe at this…

        Jesus said he was the way, the TRUTH, and the life (emphasis mine).

        Vicki outlines perfectly the need for discernment, to know God’s word and to know it well. Consider Satan’s encounter with Christ in the wilderness. Satan quoted (or misquoted) scripture, twisting its meaning for his own purpose. Know the original and you will be equipped to detect the counterfeit.

        Like

        • Todd Beal says:

          Absolutely. Only through persistent wholehearted acceptance of truth do we gain the ability to discern between truth and untruth. Aside from this, truth remains elusive.

          Like

Comments are closed.