Balancing Good and Bad

Bad does not balance good any more than good balances bad.

Todd Beal

Good always has been and always will be. Bad, once nonexistent, began with the rebellion against good. Good exists for the sake of its goodness; bad exists for the sake of destroying the very good on which it depends for existence. Without good, bad would cease to exist; with or without bad, good will continue… and continue.

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [B], Good versus Evil and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Balancing Good and Bad

  1. The adversary thinks he can foil the ultimate good, but for all his power and posturing he only serves his enemy. We strengthen our spirits and become more like our Father as we resist him. Many succumb to temptation and are lost for a time, but the reach of grace is so long and so deep that the adversary may find his hell a much less populous place than he hopes for.

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      That is a great point Michael. However, I’m not sure what you mean in your last sentence, “Many succumb to temptation and are lost for a time….” Will you please clarify?

      Like

  2. I’m referring to the power of the atonement of Jesus Christ to reclaim those who exercise their will to turn from rebellious paths and accept the cleansing that comes from repentance and living a life in line with truth. We “all have sinned” (Rom 3:23), and without the merits of Christ are lost. When I say “lost for a time”, I mean the time we persist in rebellion, procrastinating repentance and submission. I believe we will never be lost to God unless we openly reject every opportunity we are given to accept his invitation to come back.

    Like

  3. Hi Todd
    I remember the time when, as a Roman Catholic, my thoughts were aimed at trying to “do good” to wipe out all the bad. I thought that becoming a nun to serve God would somehow atone for at least SOME of the evil in me – but how good is good enough?

    That is no longer a quandary. When Jesus bore my sin, He gave me His righteousness. Sure, I still sin but the penalty for that sin is already paid and when I repent I am restored and that sin is completely forgotten. In this life I will always have a sinful nature. I will never be “good” but I have the righteousness of Christ and His blood cleanses from all sin.

    Like

Comments are closed.