Achieving Objectivity

Objectivity is subjectively internalizing all factors under consideration while remaining true to their essential meaning, then reintroducing the personalized composite back into self from the conscious mind, essentially unaltered from the original.

Todd Beal

Traditionally, we consider objectivity and subjectivity as mutually exclusive. We naturally think of subjective thought as completely personal and objective thought as divorcing oneself from all personal involvement. However, whether we think subjectively or objectively both are simultaneously involved but with one receiving more weight than the other. If someone is more apt to experience life subjectively, he or she will still think objectively but only in terms of what something means on a personal level. If someone is more apt to experience life objectively, he or she will still think subjectively but only in terms of what something means on an external level.

There exists a time and place to appropriately give more weight to one over the other, but in the end we are neither island unto our self, experiencing life only for self, nor separate from the person that we call our self, experiencing life only in terms of everything but self. Nonetheless, if left to our own devices we lean more toward one or the other, the subjective or objective, depending on what we consider most natural.

This introduces truth. Truth is the cohesive essence that binds together unto itself all things non-contradictive. Meaning, if I seek truth above all else and resolve to make it manifest in my life, I will no longer be content with experiencing life either subjectively or objectively, one at the expense of the other. I will seek to unite all my personal faculties – my mind, feelings, thoughts, will, my heart, my whole self – for understanding reality in whatever form it assumes. Truth is our means for resolving the difference between the subjective and objective, and without it we will always favor one over the other. When truth guides us, we understand not only what something means to all people universally but also what it means to us personally. When we marry these two complimentary sides of reality, we experience life in terms of its personal meaning as well as what it means apart from personal involvement. We accurately personalize the experience without our subjectivity contradicting reality, and simultaneously inhibit our objectivity from removing the personal meaning. We not only ingest the true essence of our experience but also understand it both objectively and subjectively, one in terms of the other and both in terms of truth – we understand reality.

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [A], Objectivity, Subjectivity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.