A Time for Self-Belief

There comes a time when you stop trying to get the world to believe in you and instead begin to believe in yourself.

Todd Beal

Self-belief is not synonymous with arrogance. Arrogance is the delusion of invincibility accompanied by disregard for others. Mature self-belief comes through wisdom and humility, through being honest with our self about our shortcomings, and strengths.

Belief in self often comes at a great price but with an even greater reward. Many of us spend our entire life trying to be something, do something, worthy of praise. We share our dreams and goals, as well as our progress and accomplishments, with others, hoping that someone somewhere will believe in us, and in what we are doing. Some of us are fortunate enough to have at least one person who mentors us, encourages us, and gives us their whole support but this is the exception not the rule. Most people believe in only what they already think possible, not in the person who has yet to make a possibility become reality. Others will see us for who we are – what we are really made of – when they can see our true capabilities in action; only then will they choose to believe. Until then, the hard work of self-belief is our only option.

Self-belief requires introspection and self-honesty: where do I personally fall short and why? How do I fix that? What do I want to do: is it beneficial to me; will it help others; will it be of service to them? What is my attitude toward life: positive or negative – how do I make it better? At some point in your search, you will begin to believe in yourself and not know why until you compare the new you with the person you once were: your life will begin to flourish, not out of arrogance but through humble competence. Self-belief is contagious, and the stronger it grows the more it spreads like wildfire. Not only will you believe in yourself, but the ones around you will begin to believe that they too can make their dreams come true also.

About Todd Beal

I love truth and its facts. I love thought-provoking conversations that give both the other person and me a better understanding of a particular topic. I love to find answers to life-long questions; answers that let me see things for what they are instead of what they seem to be. I truly enjoy being in the midst of a group of people where all individuals are joining in, where everybody is enjoying the company of each other. I relax in the company of individuals who are competent yet humble. I like to catch myself doing or saying something ridiculous and then laugh my head off. I enjoy my church and being involved.
This entry was posted in By Title [A], Self-Belief and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Time for Self-Belief

  1. Great thoughts, Todd, thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. Introspection as you describe it is something badly needed in our society, as all too many people have become islands of gratification-seeking with little thought as to how their actions affect others. I like your mature, principle-based attitude toward life.

    Like

Comments are closed.